110 Edmund Street (Former Scottish Mutual Assurance Society building) - A Birmingham Gem!

This Grade II listed building now offices dates back to 1895. Built in red brick in the Flemish revival style, it is located on the corner of Newhall Street and Edmund Street.  


There was a pub at the corner of Edmund Street and Newhall Street called Edmunds. By 2018 it was called The Florence. But Edmunds Bar & Brewhouse is also here.

EdmundsEdmunds Bar (February 2010). Photography by Elliott Brown

 

The original building was built by Frank Barlow Osbourne for W H Smythe Solicitors.

Across each upper floor is a continuous balcony with wrought-iron balustrade. It has a canted bay window on the first and second floors. 

Beneath first floor window is a carved ashlar panel with monogram and the date '1895'.

 

History of Edmunds

This original building included 29 Newhall Street and 106 - 110 Edmund Street.

It was built by Frank Barlow Osbourne, 1895, for W M Smythe and was occupied by solicitors' offices with sets of doctors' consulting rooms on either side.

Edmunds

1895 sign above Edmunds on Newhall Street (February 2010). Photography by Elliott Brown

 

The building has a fine subtle Shaw-influenced design in red brick and dark grey stone, perhaps Cefn.

There is a main block to Newhall Street with its central bay marked by broad pilasters that end in volutes.  It has a high roof with finely moulded chimneys, with a side wing to Edmund Street. The canted bay rising to Queen Anne-style gables and the continuous balconies with iron railings impose a grid which clearly expresses the offices behind.

EdmundsEdmunds on Edmund Street (February 2010). Photography by Elliott Brown

 

Osbourne's typical elongated consoles are visible to the doorway. There are blunt, unmoulded windows, especially in the corner oriel with its charming ogee cap.

The building was formerly called The Scottish Mutual Assurance Society building.

 

Until at least 2008, there was a pub here called The Corner House. It had become Edmunds by 2009.

EdmundsEdmunds on Newhall Street (February 2010). Photography by Elliott Brown

 

Renamed to Edmunds Brewhouse in 2015. By the summer of 2018 the venue was known as Edmunds Bar & Brewhouse. Later that year it reopened as The Florence.

The FlorenceThe Florence from Newhall Street (December 2018). Photography by Elliott Brown

 

Contacts and further details

B3 2ES

View 110 Edmund Street on our Birmingham map HERE.

Project dates

03 Mar 2021 - On-going

Passions

History & heritage, Classic Architecture

Contact

Your Place Your Space

Jonathan Bostock

0121 410 5520
jonathan.bostock@ yourplaceyourspace.com